The third dimension

I took my first (practical) steps towards 3D last weekend when I went on a course to learn the basics of Maya. By the end of the weekend I had made this seamonster:

my first image in Maya

Next, I turned it into this jungle:

 

I love Maya – I’m working on my first 3D model right now.  I am also excited that I’ve registered for FAB8 in Wellington (just for the public symposium on the 27th, and the Open Design workshop on Saturday 25th.  After listening to Neil Gershenfeld talk about digital fabrication on National Radio this saturday, I knew I needed to be there.

3D fabrication brings together so many of the things I’m interested in, even Information Technology, because of the way it enables the transfer of data ‘information’ into physical objects in the world.

Leave a Reply

