My first 3D printed object

Meet diamond_vase, my very first 3D printed object!  The beginnings of success after a frustrating 2 year journey trying to figure out 3D printing… attending Fab Lab 8, visiting a hearing-aid manufacturer in Auckland with my box of wax ring models, wrecking Rich’s desk with my resin experiments, being practically the only girl at the 2012 Engineering and Manufacturing Technology Trade Show, discovering Maya, then Sculptris, then Ponoko, then Shapeways, then Blender, finding the Wellington Makerspace, then FINALLY, finally, I have a 3D vase in my hand.

And this is just the beginning…

I made it myself

I made it myself!: Diamond_vase – blue ceramic.  It took about 6 weeks to get here, and about $30, but it’s all worth it.  It has very fine ceramic sides.

Leave a Reply

